VEGAS Pro 21 - On Sale Now!
DISCLOSURE: Movie Studio Zen is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on this site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Idea Filming Aviation - What Do You Use and/or Recommend

• Eagle Six
  • Eagle Six's Avatar Offline Topic Author
  • Zen Master
  • Zen Master
  • Check Your Six!
  • Thank you received: 567

Filming Aviation - What Do You Use and/or Recommend was created by Eagle Six

Posted 10 Oct 2016 03:14 #1
I'm interested in learning what type of equipment and processing other members may be using to film aviation. That would be static displays or aircraft, airshow activities, ground-to-air filming of aircraft in flight, and air-to-air filming of aircraft. Equipment including cameras, lens, audio, camera mounts, etc. The settings for shutter speeds, ND filters, etc. How you process in Movie Studio or Vegas pro, such as stabilization corrections, etc.

I've been a pilot since 1972, flight instructor and commercial part 135 freight airlines, and for personal pleasure (not to much flying in the past 30 years). Although I'm currently not flying, the interest and passion are still there, and from time to time have made a few videos. Back in the late 60's early 70's I was active in commercial aerial photography, both as a pilot and the cameraman (as a side line to my studio business).

I have a Canon XLH-1 camcorder (3 ccd) sensor global shutter with a Atomos Samurai Blade recorder. I have put together a DIY zero gravity head, but have yet had the opportunity to use it for aircraft tracking (works pretty good on birds!!). The camera and recorder are quite a large rig for shooting from within aircraft and weighs in about 11 pounds. Recently I have added a Panasonic GH4 with an Atomos Ninja Blade, which I expect will be a reasonably small package to use during flight filming, but I'm not excited about the CMOS sensor and rolling shutter.