VEGAS Pro 21 - On Sale Now!
DISCLOSURE: Movie Studio Zen is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on this site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Solved Save clips to project media deal in Vegas Movie Studio 16 Platinum

• DrTang
  • DrTang's Avatar Offline Topic Author
  • Zen Newbie
  • Zen Newbie
  • Thank you received: 0
I just downloaded the trial so I have zero experience with this program, however I used to work with Adobe Premiere years ago

so I import a large clip into the media thing, and then onto the timeline

what I want to do is chop it up into shots that I can put in the media area so I can organize them and grab them when needed

it seems as if that would be the easiest thing to do..but they won't be dragged off the timeline and I cannot find any info on doing that

is this not how other people edit?
Last Edit:28 Aug 2019 16:12 by DrTang

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Hi DrTang and welcome to the MSZ Forum

Very good question!
I don't have a tutorial on this topic, but will be releasing new tutorials on stuff like this very soon.

The Tool that you can use is the Trimmer Window.

Here are the steps for you:

1. You have 2 options for importing your source video file.
Project/Add Media (top menu)
OR
Go to Explorer tab

2. From inside either one of these windows, right-click the video and select Open in Trimmer.
Drag corners of Trimmer window to make it much bigger.
Drag thin line under video, so you can see the Audio Waveform more clearly.
Press More Buttons icon (3 horizontal lines) and Edit Visible Button Set - I recommend for a beginner to Show All.

3. Find the starting point of section you want to use and drag the cursor - this will create new Region.
Press Create Sub-clip button.
A box will open, where you can change the name if you need to.
After you press OK, your new sub-clip will be added to the Project Media tab.
You can create as many Sub-Clips as you like.