VEGAS Pro 21 - On Sale Now!
DISCLOSURE: Movie Studio Zen is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on this site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Solved Poor preview video quality on high-power machine

• MeSlim
  • MeSlim's Avatar Offline Topic Author
  • Zen Newbie
  • Zen Newbie
  • Thank you received: 0

Poor preview video quality on high-power machine was created by MeSlim

Posted 24 Apr 2020 09:22 #1
Hi Friends,

I am a newbie here. My day job is to manage the server room for a financial institution. These days, because of the lower work load, I am revisiting the travel videos that I took over the years. I decided that I will edit my travel videos into an-hour-long vblog for each destination. After careful trials, I decided to use Vegas Movie Studio 16 Platinum for ease of use.

The good news is - I like the work flow very much, especially how you arrange and edit the clips. For example, the app will automatically cross-fade for you when you overlap two clips. That is very natural. Fading in and out at the end of each clips are also very natural to me. Auto-collapse, auto-ripple, they all make sense!

Now, the problem is - I am starting to edit my videos on two machines and I find the performance of the Movie Studio very slow.

My first computer is a fairly-powerful desktop, it has i7-5930K CPU (3.5GHz 15MB cache), 32GB DDR4, RAID array that handles 95MB/s easily, and two GTX cards. My second computer is a newly-acquired very clean Dell XPS 15 9570 with i7 CPU with 12MB cache, it has a dedicated GTX 1650 video card. This laptop has 16GB RAM and the M.2 storage flies!