VEGAS Pro 21 - On Sale Now!
DISCLOSURE: Movie Studio Zen is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on this site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Solved Where are Personal Preferences / Custom Presets saved to for Sound Forge Pro

Hello:

I've been using Sound Forge for quite a few years now, currently using 11, generally this would not be an issue but seeing as I have so many customs entries for the EQ, Fader, Stereo Expand I can't afford to lose them, in the past if the op/sys was lost the main program would still be available as my *programs* folder is in a different partition than the op/sys.

I have to take down the op/sys as it has an unrecoverable issue, I have already created the new replacement system & Sound Forge has been reassociated with it. The problem I have is not being able to find the folder where all of the entries for the options such as the above are found. I've looked in both the *user*/appdata/local & the roaming folders that Sony placed there, the folder is NOT in the main program folder. I've copied the settings from those folders to the new ones and have no change.

The old program (which is still active) displays my entries & they work, the new program does not.

Does anyone have any idea as to where this folder is located?
Last Edit:05 Mar 2018 10:22 by 55trucker

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Hi 55TRUCKER

There is no one simple answer to this question, because depending on what type of plugin/effect it is, it may be saved to a different location.

Most of what you are looking for, is actually saved in the Windows Registry.
Type "regedit" into the Windows Search bar and run RegEdit.

Here are the main locations:
\HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\DirectShow\Presets
\HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Sony Media Software\Sound Forge\11.0\Presets
\HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\DirectShow\Presets\FX Packages