Solved SD to HD conversion

  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 2

SD to HD conversion was created by pauldr44

I made a 7 minute video from an old 16 mm film (22 minutes total) that I converted from film to video as an avi file in SD many years ago. Now I have created HD ProRes files from the original 16 mm film. I would like to remake the short 7 minute video using the new HD video footage. When I import the avi file into Vegas and match properties, I have a 4 x 3 sized screen. If I import the HD version, I have black bars. If I change properties of the SD version to 1920 x 1080 and then import the HD version, I still have black bars. Is there a way to substitute the old SD footage with the new HD footage and avoid having black bars?

Thanks,

Paul Richards
25 Apr 2019 08:48 #1

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 802
  • Karma: 46
  • Thank you received: 567

Replied by Eagle Six on topic SD to HD conversion

Hi Paul,

If I not missing something, start a project in HD (1920x1080). Add your HD footage in the timeline. Click on Pan & Crop. Place the pointer anyplace on the image and right click. Select 'Match Output Aspect'. That should do it.
Best Regards......George
The following user(s) said Thank You: DoctorZen
25 Apr 2019 09:32 #2

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: 1
  • Thank you received: 2

Replied by pauldr44 on topic SD to HD conversion

Thanks. That did it. Paul
25 Apr 2019 13:43 #3

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Moderators: DoctorZen
Time to create page: 0.067 seconds

Make a Donation

Movie Studio Zen is a fully independent site and all our content is free. You can help support this site by making a PayPal donation.

MSZ Social Media

youtube  facebook  twitter

MSZ Security

MovieStudioZen.com

Copyright © 2019 MovieStudioZen.com.
All rights reserved.

Back to top