VEGAS Pro 21 - On Sale Now!
DISCLOSURE: Movie Studio Zen is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on this site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Solved Vegas Pro 17 crashes on startup

• Bolla
  • Bolla's Avatar Offline Topic Author
  • Zen Newbie
  • Zen Newbie
  • Thank you received: 1

Vegas Pro 17 crashes on startup was created by Bolla

Posted 07 Sep 2019 19:02 #1
Hi!
I've had a problem that occurred recently, where Vegas Pro crashes whenever I open a .veg file. I had this problem on Vegas Pro 16 and I tried to upgrade to Vegas Pro 17 and see if that worked, but I didnt work. I'm still a bit new to Vegas Pro and I've only used it for a few months now. I've tried searching it up but I didnt understand anything. Does anyone know any solutions?

thanks in advance
Last Edit:08 Sep 2019 01:19 by Bolla

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Replied by DoctorZen on topic Vegas Pro 17 crashes on startup

Posted 07 Sep 2019 20:00 #2
Hi Bolla

1. If you originally created a project with an older version of Vegas Pro, then finish that project with the same version of Vegas.
Each version of Vegas may differ slightly and only support certain plugins with that version.
If you then try and open an old project with a newer version of Vegas, Vegas Pro 17 may not be able to support the Video FX plugins that worked OK in the older versions of Vegas.

2. There was a big change made to Vegas Pro 17 in regards to Video FX plugins, which means many older Video FX will not appear or work in VP17.
All the major 3rd party Video FX makers were made aware of the changes well in advance and most of them released new versions of their Video FX, so they would work in VP17.

Examples of what I am talking about are: Boris FX and New Blue FX.

3. It is best to only create projects from scratch in Vegas Pro 17, to reduce possible errors.