VEGAS Pro 21 - On Sale Now!
DISCLOSURE: Movie Studio Zen is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on this site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Solved VEGAS Pro 18 - constantly rebuilding proxies

VEGAS Pro 18 - constantly rebuilding proxies was created by BlackSands

Posted 01 Aug 2021 11:56 #1
I'm totally new to VEGAS Pro. I've just taken advantage of the recent $99 upgrade offer and made the leap from MS17 to VP18. MS17 was stable and I made pretty good use of it but I've immediately encountered some issues with VP18 and wonder if anyone more familar with the software might have some suggestions?.

The first thing I notice is video playback is sometimes quite glitchy... jumps, flickers and occasionally flashes green. (I notice also that sometimes the clip previews in the media window are just displaying as green).

The second problem which is particularly annoying is VEGAS is constantly rebuilding the video proxies. I have a few test 720p/1080p clips loaded. I wouldn't usually create proxies for lower-res clips but I'm just familiarising myself with the software at this stage and testing things out. The proxy rebuild happens every time I return to VEGAS after I've clicked away to some other app - web browser of whatever. I do like to put together the occasional vid in 4k so I will of course want to be using proxies. (I have Auto proxy set to off).

Any ideas?:unsure:
| Movie Studio 17 / VEGAS Pro 19/20) | Intel i5-3.8gHz | 16Gb | nVidia GTX1030 | NewBlue Transistions 5/TotalFX7 |

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Replied by DoctorZen on topic VEGAS Pro 18 - constantly rebuilding proxies

Posted 01 Aug 2021 13:53 #2
Hi BlackSands

Did you also post a similar message about the same problem, on the official Vegas Forums here ?
www.vegascreativesoftware.info/us/
I can't find it now, but I did read another user expressing the same problem with video proxies, on the official Vegas forums.