VEGAS Pro 21 - On Sale Now!
DISCLOSURE: Movie Studio Zen is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on this site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Solved Hello all, so glad I found this forum! - and a newbie question

Newcomer to Movie Studio 13 and film making in general.
I have many years experience making music on DAW's, so it's not completely alien though.
I want to get into making documentary, music videos, and eventually who knows.
I have a Lumix GH2, a Rode Videomic Pro, a few lenses, a tripod, and loads of big ideas!!

The couple of weeks or so have been spent reading manuals and watching tutorials,
and I feel like I've just scratched the surface. SO glad to have found this community.

What I have worked out is that I need to use the Smart Proxy feature for my laptop to play nice.
Can anyone tell me where the Smart Proxy files live by default?
Do I need to change any settings or move them to my external usb3 drive?
Or should I just leave them where they are? (my laptop is stretched so just wondering what's best practice)
Or equally, am I worrying about nothing???
Last Edit:23 May 2016 21:02 by Joe Bananas

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Replied by Eagle Six on topic Hello all, so glad I found this forum! - and a newbie question

Posted 08 May 2016 01:11 #2
Hi Joe and welcome to the forums,

Nice setup equipment you have with the Lumix GH2, a Rode Videomic Pro, a few lenses, a tripod.

Joe Bananas wrote: Can anyone tell me where the Smart Proxy files live by default?

If I'm not mistaken, the proxy files live in the same folder as the original source with the same file name, with the .sfvp0 extension.

Joe Bananas wrote: Do I need to change any settings or move them to my external usb3 drive?

If the original source clip is on your usb3 drive, that is where Movie Studio will put the sfvp0 file.