Member Login/Logout

Login - Movie Studio Zen

 

Uploading a Video to YouTube from Movie Studio or Vegas Pro should be a simple task.

There are two different ways you can upload a video file to YouTube or Facebook, using Sony Movie Studio or Sony Vegas Pro. For some very strange reason though, this simple task can turn into an absolute nightmare for anyone who is a brand new user of either program. I remember even myself having this problem when I first started using Movie Studio many eons ago.

Two Methods

There are two methods you can use with both programs. One seems like the logical choice and the other is actually my preferred and safest method to use.

  1. Use the "Upload to YouTube" or "Upload to Facebook" feature in Movie Studio or Vegas Pro.
  2. Render your video first and then manually upload to YouTube - best choice.

*Upload to Facebook is a new option that has just been added to Movie Studio Platinum 13.

I strongly advise people NOT to use the automated Upload to YouTube or Facebook options. When you select this option after pressing Make Movie, the program asks for your login details for YouTube or Facebook. It then renders (Makes a Movie) from your project using preset templates. Once the video has finished rendering, it attempts to login to your account and upload the video file. Unfortunately, this is where the whole process can fail and you begin to curse and swear at your innocent computer. If you accidentally do not enter your correct user name and password, the upload will fail and you can end up loosing your newly rendered video.

Best Method

I encourage everyone to manually render your video first, which saves it safely to your Hard Drive.

Follow these links for a full list of ALL my "How to Render Video Tutorials". I have special tutorials for every single version of Vegas Pro and Movie Studio Platinum. Each version is different, so make sure you watch the correct one.
Rendering Video with Movie Studio
Rendering Video with Vegas Pro

Once the video has finished rendering, then you can login to YouTube or Facebook yourself and press the UPLOAD button. Next you then search for your newly rendered video which should live in the following address:

Movie Studio users look here:

My Documents - Movie Studio Platinum Projects - My Project - Renders - my video
OR
My Documents - Vegas Movie Studio Platinum Projects - My Project - Renders - my video

Vegas Pro users look here:

My Documents - Vegas Pro Projects - My Project - my video

Make sure you select the correct VIDEO FILE !

When searching for your video file, make sure you actually select the Video File and NOT the Project File. The video file should be a dead give away, because it's file size will be significantly larger than all the other smaller data files that may be in your projects folder. Project Files end in .vf for Movie Studio projects and .veg for Vegas Pro projects. Project files contain no video and cannot be uploaded to a website. Trying to upload one of these project files is a very common mistake.

 

Where to buy Sony Movie Studio or how to Upgrade ?

You can buy Movie Studio Platinum 13 or Movie Studio Suite 13 direct through Sony Creative SoftwareIf you have an older version of Vegas Movie Studio and would like to upgrade, you automatically qualify for discounted upgrade pricing when you purchase directly through the Sony Creative Software website.

Movie Studio products

Derek-Moran-60x60

About Derek Moran
Derek Moran is the author of all articles on Movie Studio Zen.
You can find me on YouTube, , FacebookTwitterRead more about Derek...

Translate Language

 

Support Movie Studio Zen

Movie Studio Zen is a fully independent site and all our content is free. You can help support the site by making a PayPal donation.

MSZ Security

SSL Certificate

MOVIESTUDIOZEN.COM

© Copyright 2015. Movie Studio Zen. All Rights Reserved

Back to top

Like most websites Movie Studio Zen uses cookies. We use cookies to ensure you get the best user experience on our website and to personalise content, ads and to analyse our traffic. These cookies are completely safe and secure and will never contain any sensitive information.