VEGAS Pro 21 - On Sale Now!
DISCLOSURE: Movie Studio Zen is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on this site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Solved Quality when using the preview tool

• d3pro
  • d3pro's Avatar Offline Topic Author
  • Zen Newbie
  • Zen Newbie
  • Thank you received: 2

Quality when using the preview tool was created by d3pro

Posted 08 Dec 2019 01:39 #1
I'm new to burning Blu-Ray/DVD. After editing and rendering everything in Vegas Pro 16 then creating menus and adding everything to DVD Architect, when I use the "Preview" function I noticed my videos had lost some quality on the external monitor. Example: smooth lines of text in video are now slightly pixelated. When I use something like VLC to play my MPEG2 to test the render quality it seems fine there. I haven't tried burning a disc yet as I would hate to waste one when I have a limited budget during the holiday season. Is the quality decrease due to the preview function in DVD Architect? If so, does that mean my video quality on disc will be fine? If not, what should I do differently?

Video was rendered as MainConcept MPEG-2 Blu-Ray 1920x1080-24p, 25Mbps video stream in Vegas Pro 16.
by d3pro

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Replied by DoctorZen on topic Quality when using the preview tool

Posted 08 Dec 2019 11:24 #2
Hi d3pro

To see 1:1 quality, you need to set the Preview Window = Best (Production Quality)

If Text still does not look sharp after doing this, you need to go back into Vegas and check your Text resolution settings.
Sometimes people start a project in Vegas Pro with the Project Properties set to a low resolution and start adding Text events, then change the Project Properties later and set to Full HD. If you did this, your Text will be stuck at the lower resolution you started the project with.

Regards
Derek