VEGAS Pro 21 - On Sale Now!
DISCLOSURE: Movie Studio Zen is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on this site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Question Screen casting on Movie Studio Platinum 13?

Screen casting on Movie Studio Platinum 13? was created by PTDevon

Posted 18 Aug 2017 18:05 #1
Hi All,
I'm new on here. I've seen a previous post from someone wanting to use screencasts from screen cast-omatic, I think.

I don't have any other (specific screen cast) software like that at the moment, but I want to do a simple screencast video for someone lasting about 5 minutes.

Do I understand correctly (from Derek's reply) that MSP13 can't do screencasts directly but I can use OBS (Open Broadcast Software) - which is free - to do record screencasts (visual and audio from my voice), and then I can import that into MSP?

p.s. I'm a total beginner. There's so much I want to do with MSP but have very little knowledge currently (hence watching some of Derek's videos and coming on here) - and so far a tendency to cause MSP to crash!

Thanks in advance!

Paul
Last Edit:18 Aug 2017 19:53 by PTDevon

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Replied by DoctorZen on topic Screen casting on Movie Studio Platinum 13?

Posted 18 Aug 2017 20:11 #2
Hi Paul & welcome to the MSZ Forum.

Vegas does not have an in-built Screen Capture program - most Video Editing programs do not include something like that.
There are a huge number of screen capture programs/options available in 2017.

OBS (Open Broadcaster Software) is the best open source free version available and keeps getting better and better.
There are also a lot of garbage screen recorders floating around the universe.

I will be uploading an in-depth tutorial on OBS in the next couple of weeks, after I get some other more important stuff uploaded.
It is a bit technical to set up OBS for the first time, because there are so many different settings/options.