VEGAS Pro 21 - On Sale Now!
DISCLOSURE: Movie Studio Zen is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on this site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Solved Saying Hello for the first time (bit rate question).

Saying Hello for the first time (bit rate question). was created by downeym

Posted 22 Apr 2016 07:18 #1
Hello all, :)

I am a novice. I just purchased Movie Studio 13 Suite and have only been using it a week. I have looked at about 4 of Derek's video tutorials and they are great!

I wanted to ask a question about rendering an internet ready 1080p video. Can someone point me to an already existing thread on this topic, or should I start a new one?

My file sizes are huge (i.e., >100mB for 2 minutes). I have seen Derek's rendering 1080p video instruction and am changing my settings to match some of his suggestions. However I notice that the bit rate has a large effect and am wondering what the "right" or suggested settings are?
For now, I have started at the lowest bit rates, I get very small files but final video is pixelated 0f course. I can just increase the bit rate until I am happy, but looking for advice on the best settings.

Please help a novice or point me to a thread that deals with this. Much appreciated. :?
by downeym

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Replied by Eagle Six on topic Saying Hello for the first time (bit rate question).

Posted 24 Apr 2016 01:46 #2
Hi downeym,

Welcome to the forums. Here are some of my thoughts which may be helpful.

I think the render template defaults is a good place to start. I usually use 'MainConcept AVC/AAC' as the format and 'Internet HD 1080p' as the template. The default is:

Variable Bit Rate
Maximum (bps): 24,000,000
Average (bps): 12,000,000

This is usually what I use, and the only change I make is checking 'Two-pass'. Two-pass takes longer to render, but may provide a small boast in quality, for the same size file.