VEGAS Pro 21 - On Sale Now!
DISCLOSURE: Movie Studio Zen is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on this site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Solved superimposing -- video layering?

superimposing -- video layering? was created by mullan49

Posted 02 Mar 2017 08:52 #1
I'm experiencing terminology failure, I think. I'm an old school film editor who wants to do some very simple superimposing (ie: place or lay one thing over another, so that both are still evident).

In other words: I want to work with two images at once, not picture-in-picture (imposing a framed box of one image into another) but rather I want to see both images at the same time -- some waves, with some birds flying "super imposed" over the waves.

I am not talking about dissolving from one shot to another -- I want to see both for a set duration, with the ability to adjust from moment to moment the intensity of the superimposition.

I suspect that the envelope tool has something to do with it, but most of what I find about that tool involves working with sound.

Thanks in advance.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Replied by mullan49 on topic superimposing -- video layering?

Posted 02 Mar 2017 08:54 #2
to clarify:

I said, >>> some waves, with some birds flying "super imposed" over the waves.

I should have said, "super imposed" through the waves.

Replied by Eagle Six on topic superimposing -- video layering?

Posted 02 Mar 2017 10:34 #3
Hi mullan49, and Welcome to Movie Studio Zen,

Try this......

Put the waves clip on a track in the timeline.
Create a track above this and put the bird clip in this top track.

In the preview window all you will see is the top bird clip (event).