Sony's Movie Studio Suite 13 is a workshop for creating your Video and Audio productions from beginning to end.

Movie Studio Suite 13 is Sony's best consumer grade production workshop they have created so far.

Why do I say that ? Because the classic "Suite" version of their Movie Studio software now includes everything you need to edit and create your video and audio productions. The Suite is a collection of Sony's best consumer grade software programs, bundled with a neat collection of bonus features and plugins.

Programs included in Movie Studio Suite 13

Bonus Features included with Suite 13

  • New Blue Fx Titler EX - 3D Titles and Text generation tool
  • New Blue Fx Video Fx and Transitions
  • Hitfilm Video Fx
  • Boris Continuum Video Fx - 2x collections
  • Izotope Vocal Eraser Tool
  • Studio Devil British Valve Fx
  • True Pianos plugin
  • 1001 Sony Sound Effects
  • Sony Sound Series Sampler collection
  • Custom Sound Sets and Songs collection
  • Loops and Songs collection
  • One free download from Sony's Loops and Samples collection
  • Movie Studio Platinum Getting Started Tutorials
  • Sound Forge Audio Studio Getting Started Tutorials

Movie Studio Platinum 13

The heart of this package is Movie Studio Platinum 13, which is Sony's best consumer grade video editing program. I have already reviewed this program just by itself in a separate article. I suggest if you haven't already done so, that you read this article after you are finished reading here.
Review of Sony Movie Studio Platinum 13

Movie Studio Platinum 13 DesktopMovie Studio Platinum 13 Desktop

DVD Architect Studio 5.0

DVD Architect Studio gives you the ability to create DVDs and BluRay Discs with fully working Menus, just like in a bought DVD. For this release of Movie Studio Suite 13, DVD Architect remains unchanged from previous versions of the program.

DVD Architect can also create DVDs and BluRay discs with Stereo or 5.1 Surround Sound audio tracks. However there is one limitation with the "Studio" version of DVD Architect, which means you cannot create BluRay discs with Menus that have a 5.1 Surround Sound audio track. Creating a BluRay with Menus and a Stereo audio track is OK, just not with 5.1. This seems like a ridiculous limitation in this day and age, considering that 1080p HD video has become the gold standard amongst video makers and that only a BluRay disc can record HD video files. Hopefully in a future release of DVD Architect (which is well overdue), this small annoyance can be rectified. In the meantime, if creating BluRay discs with 5.1 Surround Sound audio is important to you, then you will have to use DVD Architect Pro 6.0 which does allow this function. DVD Architect Pro 6.0 comes with Sony Vegas Pro 12.

If you would like to learn more about using DVD Architect, then please check out my tutorials here.

DVD Architect Studio 5.0DVD Architect Studio 5.0

Sound Forge Audio Studio 10

Sound Forge Audio Studio 10 is a fully functioning Audio Editing program. It can be set up to work seamlessly with Movie Studio Platinum 13. So if you are working on a project in Movie Studio and need to do some detailed work on a audio track, you can send the audio file directly to Sound Forge and edit on it here. Once finished, pressing save in Sound Forge will automatically update the same audio file in Movie Studio.

One of my favourite tools in Sound Forge Audio Studio 10, is the Vinyl Recording and Restoration Tool. So for anyone who has a collection of LPs and Cassettes from the good old days, you can now connect your sound system to a computer and record directly into Sound Forge. Sound Forge gives you the tools to repair the audio by removing the pops and crackles, and then finally you can turn the new digital recording into a CD with defined tracks and numbers.

I do not have any tutorials on how to use Sound Forge at the moment, but am planning to do a new series in the very near future.

Sound Forge Audio Studio 10Sound Forge Audio Studio 10

Acid Music Studio 10

Acid Music Studio 10 is a complete music creation workshop. Acid comes with a couple of Gigabytes of music Loops and Samples. These Loops and Samples cover many variations and genres of all the main instruments that would typically go into a music track. Using this extensive library, you can drag and drop loops onto the Acid Music Studio timeline and start piecing together your own unique music track. The timeline works very much the same way as Movie Studio does, but with the added feature that you can literally paint your music onto the timeline. The user interface also includes a full mixing desk of sliders and settings to get your mix just right. You can also connect a keyboard to your computer via a Midi connection, and record what you are playing direcltly into Acid Music Studio as you play back your other tracks.

The best thing about Acid Music Studio is that all the music you create is Royalty Free, which means it is perfectly safe to include in any video that you upload to YouTube.

I do not have any tutorials on how to use Acid Music Studio at the moment, but am planning to do a new series at the same time I work on Sound Forge Audio Studio.

Acid Music Studio 10Acid Music Studio 10

 

$20 Off on Vegas Movie Studio Platinum

VEGAS Movie Studio

If you already own an older version of Vegas Movie Studio, you can purchase a discounted upgrade via this link.

 

Derek-Moran-60x60

About Derek Moran
Derek Moran is the author of all articles on Movie Studio Zen.
You can find me on YouTube, , FacebookTwitterRead more about Derek...

 

Say something here...
symbols left.
You are a guest ( Sign Up ? )
or post as a guest
Loading comment... The comment will be refreshed after 00:00.
  • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
    Ben · 08:08 16/09/2016
    Hello. I am just getting back into video after 10 years and loved the Vegas product. Looking to upgrade my video editing software with latest bells and whistles. I have Sony Vegas MS Platinum 11. It came with Sony DVD Architect Studio 5.0 and Sony Sound Forge Audio Studio v10. Not sure I would use Acid Music Studio 10 (I also read an Amazon review that said the free loops are no longer available since the Magix transition). Since DVD Architect and Sound Forge are still the same versions, do I need to purchase the suite (basically just for Acid Music). Is there a difference between Movie Studio Platinum 13 standalone and the suite? I know there are a couple of other features in the suite, BorisFX/NewBlueFX 3D/FXHome, but I don't think I would use those in my vacation video editing or slide shows.
    • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
      Derek
      • Moderator
      · 11:36 16/09/2016
      Hi Ben
      You may want to consider waiting a little while longer before upgrading.
      Movie Studio Platinum 13 is over 2 years old now. Version 14 will be released in February 2017. The version of Movie Studio that comes with the "Suite" version is the same version. Main difference is extra programs and FX that come with Suite. Since you have waited this long, it's probably better to wait until next year and then it will be a significant upgrade.
      The best feature about the suite for many people, is the New Blue Titler EX - creates really nice Text Graphics. If this is important, get the Suite.
      • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
        Ben · 18:01 17/09/2016
        Thanks Derek. Currently Magix is offering me Studio 13 for just under 60 dollars with a free upgrade to Studio 14 when it comes out. Movie Studio Suite 13 is just under 90 dollars with a free upgrade to version 14 in February. Both offers expire the end of September. Given the discount and free upgrade, sounds like a good idea to purchase now. Thanks for your advice (creative titling is an item that I think I would use) and for the small 30 dollars difference I think I will get the suite. Thanks again for your prompt reply.
  • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
    Julian · 13:51 15/09/2016
    Hi, I'm thinking of moving on from Movie studio platinum 12 - is 13 (platinum or suite) worth the change, or better to stick with what I have? I'm not looking to do 4k - HD at best.
    Thank you.
    • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
      Derek
      • Moderator
      · 15:11 15/09/2016
      Hi Julian
      I recommend you stick with version 12 for now. Sony has sold most of their software to Magix and they have taken over development. Version 13 is over 2 years old now, however version 14 will be released early next year. If you are happy using v12 right now, wait until v14 comes out and then it should be a significant upgrade.
  • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
    Anonymous · 07:43 07/09/2016
    Hi, I purchased suite 13 but can't find any included loops. If you downloaded it, could you tell me where to find them please?
    • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
      Derek
      • Moderator
      · 18:51 07/09/2016
      When and where did you buy Movie Studio Suite 13 from ?
      Sony is no longer the seller of this software, because Magix has bought company.
      If you bought download direct from Magix.com, you need to speak to them about this.
      When Sony was the owner, all you had to do was login to your account and go to Software Download section.
      Here you would find very large file folders.
      These need to be downloaded and saved to a folder on your computer.
      They DO NOT appear inside of the program.
      To use Loops and Samples, you need to find folder you save to and import into your project.
  • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
    Dan Little · 04:34 13/05/2016
    Derek, I got Platinum 13 and a new 4K laptop at the same time. I find that when I try to add Text/Titles, the dialogue that opens to do that does not open out completely. As a result, I cannot get to the buttons to change text characteristics, In fact the text insertion area is so small that I cant even insert text without a lot of difficulty.

    No amount of display scaling in Window 10 will solve this problem; because the problem is not so much scaling, as it is that fact that the dialogue just does not open enough to show all of its buttons/controls.

    Any idea about how to fix that ?
  • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
    George · 08:41 23/03/2016
    DEREK I've been looking at the beginning of your Platinum Studio 13 video. The media generator procedures you shown on the screen don't match with my version of Platinum Studio 13. For example, the title option in your video shows a doz options; my program shows only 1. The preview of your changes is dynamic. On my progarm, the changes don't display. So, I guess I'm doing somthing wrong. Any help would be appreciated.
    • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
      Derek
      • Moderator
      · 12:36 23/03/2016
      Make sure you have set the program to ADVANCED mode in the top left corner. Always use Advanced and never simple. Let me know if this fixes your problem.
  • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
    John · 08:28 12/02/2016
    I've done some basic video editing - basically a novice. I've enjoyed reading your reviews on Sony Movie Studio Suite 13 and 12. I don't care for big buttons, I will never use a touch screen PC, but I do like an intuitive interface without too much of a learning curve. That's one reason I'm leaning away from the Vegas high-end programs. Given all this and wanting to use a product that's quite STABLE, would you recommend I go with version 12 or 13? My PC is fast enough and has RAM enough for most basic video projects (Windows 7, 8G RAM, Intel i5 processor, low-end graphics card).
    • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
      Derek
      • Moderator
      · 12:39 23/03/2016
      Hi John
      I'm sorry I did not reply sooner. There was a bug in the website and I was not receiving notifications for when new messages were posted, so I have only just discovered your message today! I would only recommend upgrading to V13 if you edit with 4K video or use a Sony camera that records to Sony XAVC.
      Regards
      Derek
  • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
    Desiree · 05:12 22/02/2015
    Hi I am looking at buying the suite I have movie studio 13 and want to upgrade to the suite but I have run into a problem a few months ago my movie studio quit working Im not sure why because It has been working Fine, and then after Id has it only three months it stoped. I tryed to open it after it froze and shut down on me and when I opened it an error messege popped up saying that movie studio has quite working. I have been trying to her it to work again. I re installed it and the same error message came up So I looked on here for help and am convincentes that it might be my GPU it's a Intel the guy from best buy looked it up But When I looked on my computer I right click on the movie Studio window and click graphics procesor ir something like that and it has three choices Nivia,sistem, and some other one like internacional graphics so my quistion is that should I upgrade to the suite and if I do will it work or am I just out of luck because It wont run could you please help thanks
    • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
      Derek
      • Moderator
      · 11:56 22/02/2015
      What is the exact current version you have ?
      Movie Studio 13 or Movie Studio Platinum 13 ?
      The Suite contains Movie Studio Platinum 13.

      There is something you can do which may fix your current version.
      Do a full program reset.
      Turn Movie Studio Off.
      Hold down CONTROL and SHIFT keys at the same time AND ALSO AT THE SAME TIME double click program icon on Desktop to Boot program.
      Window will pop up.
      Select Delete Cache and Yes.
      This will restore program to Factory Default Settings.

      Before you try to upgrade to the Suite, you need to make sure Movie Studio Platinum 13 is going to work for you. Download the free trial just for Movie Studio Platinum 13 - don't worry about the Suite until you get this version working properly.

      If you have installed K-Lite Codec Pack, make sure you un-install this before doing anything. Many people install this garbage and it ends up destroying Movie Studio. So if you have this, get rid of it now.


      • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
        Desiree · 15:39 22/02/2015
        I have movie studio 13 Billed 186 64 bit I will try that what you said but Am I sopposed to open the program It dose not open all the way It boots up as if it is going to open then shows the error message. Also When I download the trail of movie studio platnume I will need to uninstal movie studio 13 correct. When I downloaded movie studio I did a save as and Rin do you know where the files for the program might have went so that I dont have to reinstall it

        Thank you in advance
        Sincerly yours
        desiree
        • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
          Derek
          • Moderator
          · 16:28 22/02/2015
          If the program is still crashing after doing the reset, then you have something majorly wrong with your program. More than likely your Windows Registry is corrupted and that is why it is not opening.

          You don't have to un-install Movie Studio 13, to try out Movie Studio Platinum 13. They are different programs.

          When you download any program, from any website, your web browser should ask where you want to save the file to. The default folder is normally your Downloads Folder.

          You can use Windows Search function to find files on your computer. Search "Movie Studio" and you will see a list of different files.
          • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
            Desiree · 00:14 23/02/2015
            COkay Than you very much I delaeted the caché and It worked I also have a saved movie studio platnium trail on my computer that I saved some time ago so I will install that
            • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
              Derek
              • Moderator
              · 16:57 22/02/2015
              If you really want to get Movie Studio 13 working again, my best suggestion is that you do a Clean Install. A clean install means you will have to un-install MS13 first and then delete all the Windows Registry values for your Sony programs - then re-boot computer and finally re-install MS13. If you want to try this, I can send you detailed instructions.
  • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
    Mike · 21:32 19/08/2014
    Hi Derek, thanks for making these tutorials - I've found them very helpful.
    My problem is with the audio. The project sounds really great on the earphones when I'm editing in Sony Movie Studio Plat Suite 12 with surround sound, but when I render the project to a DVD the music sounds "tiny" and too loud and other sound channels too soft.
    Is there something else I need to know?

    Mike.
    • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
      Derek
      • Moderator
      · 14:50 20/08/2014
      You can't listen to a 5.1 Surround Audio track accurately with a pair of Stereo Headphones. All the different tracks combined together when you listen with headphones.

      To mix the 5.1 properly, you need to focus on each Track individually using the separate tracks on Timeline.
      If you have Movie Studio set to 5.1, you should have separate tracks for Front, Center, LFE and Rear. You can use the Volume Slider for each track to adjust levels and/or use the Master Bus Control Panel next to the Preview Window. Please note you will have to drag this out a bit to see all sliders for Master Volume Control.

      Use the EXCLAMATION ! mark on each track, to focus on ONLY one track at a time while you are doing your mix.

      It takes time and patience to mix a 5.1 Surround Track, because you can go in so many different directions. Listen to a how Hollywood mixes 5.1 Audio on a DVD or Blu-ray disc. Quite often the volume from back channels is very low, unless a sound effect is coming through.

      Regards
      Derek.
  • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
    kushal · 04:14 11/07/2014
    hi can i do 2k video editing in this software. i am using black magic cinema camera 2.5k and i need 2k resolution
    • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
      Derek
      • Moderator
      · 13:24 11/07/2014
      2k is a loose term that covers many slightly different resolutions.
      Normal 1080p video is considered 2k, so yes Movie Studio can edit 2k video.
      1920x1080 = 2073600
      However, you can't edit 2k with a resolution of 2048x1152.
      You can edit 4k Video with Movie Studio Platinum 13, with a resolution of 3840 x 2160.
      If you want more control with resolution, you need Vegas Pro which has does allow true Pro 2k and 4k Video.
  • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
    Guest · 19:15 28/05/2014
    Could someone please list all the NewBlue and Boris FX that come with the Suite version, please?
    • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
      Derek
      • Moderator
      · 23:37 28/05/2014
      Post your question on the Forum and then I can upload some screen shots for you.

Zen Social Media

MOVIESTUDIOZEN.COM

© Copyright 2018. Movie Studio Zen. All Rights Reserved.

Support Movie Studio Zen

patreon 200

Movie Studio Zen is a fully independent site and all our content is free. You can help support the site by visiting the MSZ Patreon page or by making a PayPal donation.

Translate Language

 

MSZ Security

Positive SSL

Back to top