Pin It

Q: Why does video in the Preview Window look Blurry in Sony Vegas?

Answer: Please note that the Preview Window in Sony Vegas Pro and Sony Movie Studio Platinum has countless combinations of Quality Settings. Some combinations can  produce different problems that my lead the user into believing there is something wrong with their video. There is also a hidden setting on the Timeline, which can make your videos look like they have a lot of Motion Blur.

How to change settings for Preview Window

The most important thing to know is that your Preview Window Settings DO NOT EVER effect the quality of your finished rendered project. Preview Settings are just for while you edit and are designed to improve Playback Performance so that your video plays back as smooth as possible while editing.

The best way to understand what these different combinations look like, is to spend 10 minutes doing some experiments yourself. I have to admit that when I first started using Vegas, I was completely confused for over six months until one day I did a Right-Click on top of the Preview Window.

Right-click the Preview Window and turning OFF "Adjust Size & Quality" and "Scale Video". Then change settings to Good or Best (Quarter) or (Half), and drag out surrounding desktop to see full display.

preview window 1

preview window 2

preview window 3

preview window 4

 

How to turn off Motion Blur / Re-Sampling

There is a hidden setting in Vegas Pro and Movie Studio that is applied to all videos on the timeline by default. This setting can make certain types of videos look like they have a lot of Motion Blur. Most experienced users of Sony Vegas Pro and Movie Studio, turn this setting off by default for all their projects. The best time to do this is after you have imported all your videos onto the timeline. You can select all  your videos as one large group and perform the function just once.

Right-click all videos on the timeline and go to Switches - then set to Disable Re-sample.

Your videos should look instantly sharper, especially if there is a lot of fast movement on your videos.

 

 

Pin It
Say something here...
symbols left.
You are a guest ( Sign Up ? )
or post as a guest
Loading comment... The comment will be refreshed after 00:00.
  • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
    seb · 17:39 03/06/2020
    thanks so much
    • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
      Derek
      • Member
      • Moderator
      · 00:24 04/06/2020
      Cheers
  • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
    Bo · 16:27 05/05/2020
    This was the perfect advice I've been looking for all day! Thank you!
    • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
      Derek
      • Member
      • Moderator
      · 23:38 05/05/2020
      Cheers
  • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
    Tim Whitfield · 20:35 31/10/2019
    When I am recording in Vegas pro 16 and I click on the two monitor icons at the top on the preview screen It appears on my 2nd monitor real zoomed in and a lot of it is cut off and can't see the full screen. How can I correct this problem. I hope I am explaining it good enough.
    • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
      Derek
      • Member
      • Moderator
      · 20:12 01/11/2019
      This FAQ applies to both Vegas Movie Studio and Vegas Pro.
      Right-click the Preview window and select "Preview Device Preferences"
      Use the drop down box under "Display Adaptor" and select Monitor 2.
      Check the setting that says: "Scale Output to Fit Display".
      It might be a good idea to Reset Vegas, to restore all settings to default values.
      Reset instructions here:
      https://www.moviestudiozen.com/doctor-zen-faq/573-how-to-reset-sony-software-to-default-settings#a1
      I would also recommend you check your Graphics Card Driver settings for monitor No.2
      If you second monitor uses a different resolution to No.1, it may cause a problem.
      Right-click your Windows Desktop and select Nvidia Control Panel or Catalyst Control Center (AMD).
      Select Display/Change Resolution and then select your 2nd monitor.
      Native resolution is best setting for monitors.
  • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
    heeeeeeelp · 10:49 23/10/2019
    ok so i record a video in elgato it comes out looking good but when i try to edit it in movie studio it comes out at like 480 p any idea as to why?
  • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
    Wolfb · 14:34 28/11/2016
    Does Sony movie studio 13 not allow a resize of preview screen mine has alway been tiny. Some times it's hard to align video and sound.
    • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
      Derek
      • Member
      • Moderator
      · 18:13 28/11/2016
      If you are using the NON-Platinum (basic) version of Movie Studio, it has extremely limited ability to customize settings and windows. Sometimes the preview window will screw up and display the wrong size. The only way I know who to fix this in your version of Movie Studio, is to do a full reset of the program. Instructions are listed here:
      https://www.moviestudiozen.com/doctor-zen-faq/573-how-to-reset-sony-software-to-default-settings
      • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
        Wolfb · 13:59 29/11/2016
        Wow it worked the screen size is full again. Now I remember it being big. I been squinting so long for no reason. Thanks bro your the bestB)
  • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
    Farisha · 01:01 22/11/2016
    Thanks! This helps a lot
  • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
    ppnTube · 00:36 19/10/2016
    "Resampling" means that it blurs when the frame rate didn't match? E.g. the source is 29.97fps but the project is rendered in 25fps
  • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
    George · 07:44 01/06/2016
    hello mate i am trying to render old retro gaming footage and when done the program always "smooths" the square edges of the pixels. it is really annoying me and i've tried all the different rendering qualities, it makes no difference the pixels are still smoothed. is there a nearest neighbor setting in vegas ? i can't find it if there is. i could really do with your help mate thanks a lot !
    • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
      Derek
      • Member
      • Moderator
      · 13:56 01/06/2016
      Hi George
      I don't know what you mean by "smooths the square edges of pixels" ?
      This sounds a bit complicated, so I suggest it would be better if you posted this [url=https://www.moviestudiozen.com/forum]problem into the forum[/url], where there is more room for a detailed conversation. A pixel is a pixel and can't have smooth edges. I suspect the problem is with your settings and there is a problem with the original videos format not working well with the output format settings you have chosen.
      Can you please provide the details for your old video ?
      Frame Size and Pixel Aspect Ratio ? Example 720x480, pixel aspect ratio 1.2121
      Which output format and preset are you using, when rendering the video ?
  • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
    radiodj105 · 01:41 23/04/2016
    Hi there.
    Well, I face the same problem.
    I have a very fast PC, (16gb Ram). Expensive video card...
    And when I select Preview "auto" the preview picture is really bad.
    If I select Preview "Full" it plays perfect for about 2 seconds and then there is a delay between sound and picture. After some second the picture freezes.
    Any sugestions, please?
  • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
    Guest · 04:01 30/01/2016
    Great help! Thanks a lot!

Make a Donation

Movie Studio Zen is a fully independent site and all our content is free. You can help support this site by making a PayPal donation.

MSZ Social Media

youtube  facebook  twitter

MSZ Security

MovieStudioZen.com

Copyright © 2020 MovieStudioZen.com.
All rights reserved.

Back to top