VEGAS Pro 21 - On Sale Now!
DISCLOSURE: Movie Studio Zen is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on this site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Solved Windows 10 updates

Windows 10 updates was created by kiwihans

Posted 01 Jun 2017 08:12 #1
I am a volunteer tutor for our local Senior Net organisation. We are based in a learning centre and we have 6 computers for students to work with.
Our courses usually run for 2 hours each. Lately we are experiencing interruptions with Windows 10 updates. eg: we want to start a lesson, but immediately a Windows update stops us starting the lesson. Every PC comes to a grinding halt - every action freezes until the updates are completed. This is not desirable as we are loosing class time!

I have downloaded a setting with which we can set our active hours so updates cannot happen during the hours we are teaching. The learning centre has no persons on site if there are no lessons taking place. So, how can updates take place when no-one is on site?
We have tried putting our PC's into sleep mode instead of turning them off. Will updates still be loaded while the sleep mode is on? If not, is there another way of tackling this issue?
Last Edit:06 Jan 2018 07:09 by kiwihans

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Replied by DoctorZen on topic Windows 10 updates

Posted 01 Jun 2017 13:04 #2
Hi Hans

I have never experienced a problem like this on my own Windows 10 computer, when I boot up each day, so I don't understand why your 6 computers are behaving this way?

Is the actual problem a bottleneck with the Internet connection coming into these 6 computers?
If the 6 computers sharing the same modem, all started to download large update files at the same time, I could understand that being a problem.

The only time I have seen Windows 10 go slow and lock up computer time, is when you shut down the computer and it starts to install the Windows Updates.