VEGAS Pro 21 - On Sale Now!
DISCLOSURE: Movie Studio Zen is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on this site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Idea Looking to upgrade laptop - advice required please UPDATE

Looking to upgrade laptop - advice required please UPDATE was created by tuppers

Posted 30 Mar 2023 03:26 #1
Hi Folks,
For the last nine years I've been using an MSI GE70 2 PE Apache Pro Notebook with an Intel Core i7 processor. It was recommended by Derek and I've been very pleased with it. However, I'm now running Vegas Pro 18 Edit and Titler Pro 7 and it's getting a bit clunky. I'm sure technology has moved on a lot since 2014 but as I'm not technically minded I would appreciate advice on a suitable replacement. 
I would need a 17" screen (not a touch screen) and probably Windows 10 or 11 (to include Office 2019 or later) that I could use a mouse to navigate. I would also want at least two USB ports, an HDMI port and an audio jack. Budget is around GBP1000
Any advice would be much appreciated 

UPDATE
I've attached the spec for my current MSI laptop and the spec for a new Dell XPS 17" laptop. I suppose my question is, 'would I notice a significant improvement in performance from the Dell over my old MSI?
Last Edit:09 May 2023 09:28 by tuppers
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Replied by DoctorZen on topic Looking to upgrade laptop - advice required please UPDATE

Posted 01 Apr 2023 16:14 #2
Hi Tuppers

Your old laptop was quite a good model for it's time, however in computer years, 2014 is a very long time ago now.

The new Dell laptop uses an NVMe Solid State Drive, which the best and fastest C-Drive you can buy now - much faster than older SSDs in your old computer.