VEGAS Pro 21 - On Sale Now!
DISCLOSURE: Movie Studio Zen is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on this site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Solved How to fix hollow sound?

How to fix hollow sound? was created by cartodd

Posted 05 Oct 2016 17:58 #1
Hi all,

So I am still new to video recording and editing. I am using Sony movie studio to edit my videos. I do have a question. Is there a way to edit out the hallow, far away sound of the audio during the editing process? Also I am recording with a canon T5i with a lapel mic. Are there any changes I can make in the production process to avoid this hallow sound?

Thanks for the help
Last Edit:06 Oct 2016 16:24 by cartodd

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Replied by DoctorZen on topic How to fix hollow sound?

Posted 06 Oct 2016 16:40 #2
Hi Cartodd and welcome to the MSZ Forum.

Which exact version of Movie Studio are you using?
Are you using Movie Studio, Movie Studio Platinum or Movie Studio Platinum Suite?

When you say "hallow", I am guessing you actually mean "hollow", as in a hollow log.

I do not own any Canon DSLR cameras, so I'm not familiar with their settings, however I am pretty sure you can check an important audio setting.
Make sure the you DO NOT have Automatic Gain Control turned ON.
Always Manually set the microphone recording level, otherwise the camera will keep turning the microphone up and down, which will create a lot of hiss and noise. It always better to record at slightly lower levels in camera and then you can boost them in Movie Studio later if needed.

There is no magical way to remove a hollow sounding recording.
There are three different Audio FX you can experiment with, to try and improve your audio.
Because I don't know which version of Movie Studio you have, you may or may not have what I am about to show you.

Press Track FX or individual Event FX

Track Compressor may make it sound better - experiment with different Presets.