VEGAS Pro 21 - On Sale Now!
DISCLOSURE: Movie Studio Zen is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on this site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Solved Vegas movie Studio stopped working while previewing and rendering

• TheJM
  • TheJM's Avatar Offline Topic Author
  • Zen Newbie
  • Zen Newbie
  • Thank you received: 0
Hey guys,

New user here! I just built a computer and am having issues with Vegas Movie Studio (VMS). I am new to the video editing scene so I apologize in advance if I have missed something obvious. My goal here is to provide yall with as much info as possible so help diagnose the issue.

Computer build:
I7-6800k
NVIDIA GTX 1080
32GB ram
Gigabyte 2011-3 UD5 WIFI motherboard.

Software:
VMS build 879 then 955 the 981 (problem occured throughout all 3 builds)
NVIDIA driver 375.70 and 375.70 WHQL
Windows 10 pro

The issue:

The program opens without issue. When I hit the spacebar to preview the project I just created it will play for a short time but eventually it will give me a message that says 'movie studio Platinum has stopped working' and gives me this error message:

This also occurs ramdomly while rendering. It will always occur but sometimes it takes 5 seconds and others it takes 4 hours. It should be noted that while rendering it shows the preview. The render settings I am using are Main concept AAC ---> internet 1080p -30 with "use CUDA if available" selected. The GTX 1080 is also selected in the Preferences ---> Video tab.

Steps I have taken:

I have reinstalled the drivers

Reinstalled the VMS multiple times using builds 879, 955, and 981. The same error occured in all 3 builds. I checked the 5 files (ocio_64.log for example) and I did not see any errors on build 981. On build 955 there was an OpenColorIO error but that went away on the 981 build.

I have installed MicroSoft Visial studio (saw this helped someone on a forum somewhere)

I have restarted the computer in between most steps.