VEGAS Pro 21 - On Sale Now!
DISCLOSURE: Movie Studio Zen is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on this site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Solved Which software/version should a total newbie get?

• Zonal
  • Zonal's Avatar Offline Topic Author
  • Zen Newbie
  • Zen Newbie
  • Thank you received: 0

Which software/version should a total newbie get? was created by Zonal

Posted 19 Dec 2018 03:06 #1
Hello everybody,

I searched if there were already similar questions like this, which I did expect there would be but I couldn't find them. If there are, feel free to direct me to them. Also if this is posted in the wrong sub forum please let me know.

Like the title says, I'm a total newbie. I only worked with Windows Movie Maker, which already pretty much did what I needed it to do. The only thing really missing was an extra track to add (extra/seperate) audio to my video. Also working with a time line (arrangement view) seems much more convenient.

So I think Movie Studio is more then enough for me at this point and I read somewhere that Vegas Pro has the same layout. So if I want to upgrade in the future it doesn't change your workflow. I also saw a program called Magix Fastcut (Plus Edition) and maybe that would even be enough for me (and I believe this is also from Sony?). But if I want to step up my game in the future it would be really convenient to be able to maintain the same workflow. As is the case with Movie Studio and Vegas Pro (so I have read).

So I was hoping you guys could point me to the right software to get started with.

Thank you in advance! :)
Last Edit:19 Dec 2018 10:02 by Zonal

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Replied by DoctorZen on topic Which software/version should a total newbie get?

Posted 19 Dec 2018 10:02 #2
Hi Zonal and welcome to the MSZ Forum

This is an easy answer.