VEGAS Pro 21 - On Sale Now!
DISCLOSURE: Movie Studio Zen is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on this site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Solved My 4K video edit looks worse on YouTube than my 1080

Greetings! I've been shooting nature type videos in 1080 30P (mostly) for several years and posting to my YouTube channel. I've been using MS 13 Platinum and haven't had any problems with quality. I just bought a camera that shoots 4K 30P and tested that out for the first time a couple of days ago. I used the same rendering settings I used for the 1080 footage - rendering the 4K to 1080 30P - but the YouTube video is quite a bit more compressed than my previous video. I'm noticing a lot of pixelation in the simple fade transitions between clips. I really don't know a lot about post processing and rendering, so I'm hoping I'm missing something simple in processing the 4K. I tried higher bitrates in the rendering, but the YouTube video looked exactly the same.

I've attached the rendering settings I've been using. My computer is Windows 10, Intel i7-6700 3.4 GHz processor, 16gb RAM, and GeForce GTX 745 card. Any help would be appreciated!

Last Edit:05 Mar 2019 08:49 by waterfallrich
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Replied by DoctorZen on topic My 4K video edit looks worse on YouTube than my 1080

Posted 05 Mar 2019 09:07 #2
Hi waterfallrich

If you are recording 4K video, why are you not rendering to 4K as well ?

If you upload a 4K video to YouTube, you should see improved video quality on YouTube at 4K and 1080p playback settings.
YouTube compresses the life out of all videos uploaded - there is nothing you can do to control that.
However, uploading the original 4K resolution, normally means better looking video at lower resolutions.

Did you correctly set your Project Properties in Vegas to 3840x2160 resolution ?
This is what your Project Properties should look like.