Solved VEGAS Movie Studio Performance

  • Posts: 2
  • Thank you received: 0
Hi! I've been using MS for years though I'm thinking I may have something configured improperly this entire time. I've recently been editing lots of virtual choir videos (think Picture in Picture with 4x4 grid of people). After I add a few people, the Vegas preview window grinds to a near halt. Yesterday, I was working on a similar project in Adobe Premiere (first time using it) and noticed that it had no problem playing back a 4x4 grid of video at essentially full quality and speed. I am using VEGAS Movie Studio 17 and my computer build is:
  1. AMD Ryzen 5 3600 6-Core Processor
  2. Radeon RX 570 XXX with 8GB VRAM
  3. 16 GB of highspeed ram
My hunch is that it has something to do with resampling but I am not sure. Thanks in advance!
31 Dec 2020 06:47 #1

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 4256
  • Thank you received: 1447
Hi JonathanM32 - Welcome to the MSZ Forum :)

Are you using the extremely basic Vegas Movie Studio 17 version or the fully functional Vegas Movie Studio Platinum 17 ?

I cannot speak for Adobe Premiere Pro, because I do not use that program.

Most people do turn of Re-sampling by default - mainly because it can unnecessarily add motion blur and make videos look "mushy".
You can select all your videos as one group on the timeline (highlight video parts), and then right-click, go to Switches and select Disable Resample.

Editing multiple Picture in Picture can be extremely taxing on a computer system, depending on what type of video you are editing with and your computer's hardware configuration - I am mentioning this, in case other people read this thread in the future - there is no "one size fits all".

Things to check:
1. Make sure when you started the project, that you Matched the Video Properties and Project Properties exactly.
A tiny pop up window should have appeared when you imported your first video, asking if you wanted to match your properties - say YES to this question.
If your video Frame Rates do not match your Project Property Frame Rates, it will cause massive lag, because Vegas will be trying to convert 4x videos in real time.

Go to the Project Media tab and click on each video.
Below it will report the exact Frame Rate being used.
Now open the Project Properties and check that the Frame Rate is set to the exact same value.

2. I would never try and play back 4x videos at the same time with the Preview Window set to Best/Full.
When editing multi-cam video, it would be best to set to Preview/Auto while editing.

3. I also would recommend creating video proxies when editing multi-cam videos, especially if they are 4K videos and/or came from a GoPro camera.
Video proxies are much easier to play back in real time while editing.
By default, Vegas should automatically create proxies for 4K videos when you import them.
For anything else, you can manually do this by right-clicking videos in Project Media window and selecting Create Video Proxy.
If it is greyed out, it means a video proxy already exists.

4. Make sure GPU Acceleration is turned on.
Go to Options/Preferences/Video
Make sure GPU Acceleration = your model graphics card.

5. Don't add any Video FX to a multi-cam project until you have finished editing (slicing and dicing) your videos.
Add Video FX after doing your cuts and arrangements on timeline.
The more Video FX you add in a chain, means the more work your CPU and GPU has to do in real time.

Regards
Derek
:idea: Remember to turn everything off at least once a week, including your brain, then sit somewhere quiet and just chill out.
Unplugging is the best way to find solutions to your problems. If you would like to share some love, post a customer testimonial or make a donation.
Peace :)
31 Dec 2020 10:17 #2

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 2
  • Thank you received: 0
Thanks! Yes, it's the Platinum version. The problem is everyone submits from their phones which tend to have variable frame rate. Would it be better to transcode everything to the same codec/etc first? By that same token, could the problem be that I've been using the Picture in Picture effect rather than track motion? Would that be more efficient?
31 Dec 2020 10:47 #3

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 4256
  • Thank you received: 1447

The problem is everyone submits from their phones which tend to have variable frame rate. Would it be better to transcode everything to the same codec/etc first?

That explains a lot of things.
Variable Frame Rate video is a real pain and often causes lots of problems.
VFR video is technically supported in Vegas Movie Studio Platinum, however I would strongly advise that you convert into Constant Frame Rate before you import into Vegas. Make sure ALL videos are using the exact same frame rate.
I recommend using Handbrake for converting VFR to CFR.
www.moviestudiozen.com/free-tutorials/miscellaneous-help-tutorials/595-handbrake-v1-1-1-beginners-guide-for-best-video-export-settings

By that same token, could the problem be that I've been using the Picture in Picture effect rather than track motion? Would that be more efficient?

How you create Picture in Picture should not have any impact on system resources.
I do have an in-depth tutorial on this topic here, which I recommend you watch/read:
www.moviestudiozen.com/free-tutorials/sony-vegas-pro/546-multi-screen-video-fx-sony-vegas-pro
:idea: Remember to turn everything off at least once a week, including your brain, then sit somewhere quiet and just chill out.
Unplugging is the best way to find solutions to your problems. If you would like to share some love, post a customer testimonial or make a donation.
Peace :)
31 Dec 2020 11:21 #4

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 490
  • Thank you received: 254

How you create Picture in Picture should not have any impact on system resources.


 

I'm not sure that is always the case.  I've read comments that when resizing images an Event is resized using its source resolution whereas Track Motion works on the Project resolution.  So if your source video is 4K and your project 1080 using a PIP FX applied to an Event would be resizing 4K while Track Motion resizing 1080.
Whether this is the case could be determined with a test project comparing the two methods.
31 Dec 2020 22:06 #5

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 2
  • Thank you received: 0

How you create Picture in Picture should not have any impact on system resources.



 

I'm not sure that is always the case.  I've read comments that when resizing images an Event is resized using its source resolution whereas Track Motion works on the Project resolution.  So if your source video is 4K and your project 1080 using a PIP FX applied to an Event would be resizing 4K while Track Motion resizing 1080.
Whether this is the case could be determined with a test project comparing the two methods.
 

Thank you for sharing, very good information.
30 Jan 2021 19:46 #6

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Moderators: DoctorZen
Time to create page: 0.123 seconds

Make a Donation

Movie Studio Zen is a fully independent site and all our content is free. You can help support this site by making a PayPal donation.

MSZ Social Media

youtube  facebook  twitter

 

MovieStudioZen.com

Copyright © 2021 MovieStudioZen.com.
All rights reserved.

Back to top