VEGAS Pro 21 - On Sale Now!
DISCLOSURE: Movie Studio Zen is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on this site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Solved Movie Studio 17 crashing when rendering.

• Ted
  • Ted's Avatar Offline Topic Author
  • Zen Level 2
  • Zen Level 2
  • Thank you received: 1

Movie Studio 17 crashing when rendering. was created by Ted

Posted 05 Apr 2021 03:14 #1
Hi Everyone,
I have been using movie studio for many years now, MS12 being the first. 
Recently Derek helped me sort a problem with advanced options not popping up in MS15, which turned out to be something to do with old Newblue titler downloads.(thankyou Derek)
I ended up with MS15 working perfectly, so when Derek sent me a link for MS17 at £28 I thought I couldn't miss out on that bargain. 
I trialled a few small DJI 4K clips on MS17, it crashed several times 'programme not responding' , on a forum somewhere, someone recommended unchecking open cl which allowed the clips on the timeline to be rendered, ie, DJI 4k @ 60fps MOV files, normally if it works on those it will work on anything else that I have.
Next I tried Panasonic 4K at 25fps MP4. failed to render on AVC NVENC (an error occurred 0x8066000)message
Next tried HEVC NVENC failed to render (the system is low on memory) message, however task manager showed only 44% memory being used.
So at the moment I can render the high bit rate DJI 4K at 60fps but not the 4K 25fps from a Panasonic camcorder on MS17.
All these clips work fine on MS15. 
I am using an MSI GE62 6QF laptop.  i7 6700HQ 2.7    32GB RAM DDRIV  1TB HDD  Nvidia 3GB GTX970M 
 BTW, I have tried with and without GPU acceleration, Resetting MS and emptying the cache, I have copied all settings from MS15 as much as possible.
Any help welcome
Regards
Ted.
Last Edit:05 Apr 2021 13:32 by Ted

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Replied by DoctorZen on topic Movie Studio 17 crashing when rendering.

Posted 05 Apr 2021 14:51 #2