DISCLOSURE: Movie Studio Zen is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on this site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Question Face and hands turn blue after rendering video with Movie Studio 17

I've been using MS15 for three years, using it to edit and post my church's sermons on YouTube, with great success. My pastor got me an Acer Aspire 3 laptop and MS17 on it. We had to get an external SD card reader. I added the sermon to the program, edited it as usual with scriptoral text superimposed on the bottom of the screen and rendered it. The pastor's face and hands are blue. I used the old standby laptop with MS15 and it rendered with no color anomalies. I noticed that imprinting text is different from MS15 to MS17 and am not sure if I've done something I shouldn't have done.

Also, does MS17 have a text mechanism that will place the text on a colored background panel instead of having the text superimposed over the film?

Thank you for your patience and time.

Last Edit:29 Sep 2023 17:53 by Rolin Thunda

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Hi Rolin

Are you using the "Platinum" versions of VEGAS Movie Studio or the very basic non-platinum versions ?

Please upload a copy of your .vf project file, so that I can check your program settings.
The project file contains no video or audio files, so it is quite small.

Seeing weird colours after you have rendered a video, can be caused by different things.
Most likely, it is a GPU (graphics card) configuration problem.
Movie Studio Platinum 17 uses a different encode/decode engine, with more advanced settings.
If the newer laptop has Intel integrated graphics and ALSO an Nvidia GPU, this would be the most likely cause of problem.

Open Vegas Movie Studio and go to Options/Preferences/Video
Open the drop down list for GPU Acceleration
What options show in the list here ?

Also go to: Options/Preferences/File I/O
Look at the very bottom