VEGAS Pro 21 - On Sale Now!
DISCLOSURE: Movie Studio Zen is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on this site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Solved New to HD video

New to HD video was created by Holescreek

Posted 18 Sep 2014 12:16 #1
I'm a newbie to HD video recording, until last month I spent most of my time recording slow motion video with a Casio EF-X1. My wife spent the better part of the year planning her dream vacation in Alaska and Canada so I started looking for a small hand held movie camera (I wasn't willing to risk my EX-F1!). I researched cameras in my price range and settled on a Sony Handycam, printed out the internet pricing and headed to the store to try to get them to price match it.

The floor manager didn't have a problem with the price match but he started asking what I planned on using the camera for. "The first day we're dog sledding on a glacier" was the statement my wife made that prompted him to suggest the JVC Quad Proof camera due to its resistance to water and freezing. Of course my first thought was that he was just redirecting me to a slightly more expensive camera (about $30 more) but I'm glad he did. August is the start of the rainy season in AK and it was coming down steadily on the glacier. We were dressed in our thermal jackets and each had two rain suits on over the top of them. It would have been a disappointment if the camera I'd chosen would have crapped out in the middle of nowhere.