Sony Creative Software's new consumer level Video Editing software is now called Movie Studio Platinum 12.

*Special Update January 2014*
The latest range of Sony Movie Studio software is now released. Please follow these links to read new reviews:
Review of Sony Movie Studio Platinum 13
Review of Sony Movie Studio Suite 13

New Name Change

This new version which was released in the first half of August 2012, now replaces what we knew as "Sony Vegas Movie Studio HD Platinum 11" or "Sony Vegas Movie Studio HD Platinum 11 Production Suite". So the names have been given some Zen treatment with the removal of "Vegas" and "HD" out of the title of the core program, and "Production" has been also been dropped from the Suite version.

New Features included in Movie Studio Platinum 12 version

  • Windows 7 and Vista 64 bit and 32 bit support
  • GPU Acceleration
  • Up to 20 Video Tracks
  • Up to 20 Audio Tracks
  • New Editing Tools
  • Improved Stereoscopic 3D Controls
  • Added 3D BluRay Disc and Internet Templates in the New Project Wizard
  • 20 Sony Sound Series production music files

New Bonus Features included with Movie Studio Platinum 12 Suite version

  • 50 Sony Sound Series production music files
  • Sample Pack of New Blue Video Fx and Transitions
  • New Blue Titler EX  - 3D Text creation plugin
  • Magic Bullet Quicklooks by Red Giant - over 100 Colour Grading Templates

**Please note that the "Suite" version includes everything from the Standard Version as well as all the bonuses.

Programs included

Movie Studio Platinum 12 also includes a copy of DVD Architect Studio 5.0
Movie Studio Platinum 12 Suite includes DVD Architect Studio 5.0 and Sound Forge Audio Studio 10

Closer look at Important New Features

64 bit Support - Massive Performance Boost !

This is definitely at the top of the list of Major Changes to the Movie Studio Platinum program and the main reason why existing users of Version 9, 10 or 11 should consider upgrading to Version 12. Up until now, Vegas Movie Studio HD Platinum was only ever a 32bit program, which means it had to follow the rules of 32bit computing - even if you had Vegas installed on a Wizz Bang 64bit Machine with tons of memory, storage and a fast multi-core CPU.

With the explosion of 1080p and 720p HD Video creation in the world over the last couple years, people have been discovering very quickly that you need a decent computer to Edit and Create HD Video files. Otherwise you may experience extreme lag problems in the Preview Window and see the program just simply freeze up due to not enough basic memory being available.

A decent computer equates to the following components all working together:

  • A 64bit Machine using Vista or Windows 7 64bit as the Operating System
  • More RAM (memory) than the stock standard 4GBs of a 32bit computer
  • A fast 4 Core CPU like the 2nd & 3rd Generation Intel i5s and i7s series
  • Large and Fast Hard Disc Drive storage with the capacity of 1 or 2 TerraBytes (1000 GigaBytes)
  • Icing on the cake is a SSD - Solid State Drive which Windows, your programs and Movie Studio can live on

So now the loud cries from Vegas Movie Studio users around the world have finally been heard and answered by the Sony Creative Software engineers. When you purchase Movie Studio Platinum 12 now, you actually get TWO versions of the program just like Vegas Pro 11 users do - a 32bit AND 64bit version. Which means if you are on an older 32bit computer system or laptop you can still use Verison 12 with no worries. Most computers you can buy today are ALL 64 bit now and it probably want be long before this is all you can get.

What does 64 bit Support actually mean ?
64 bit Support means that Movie Studio Platinum 12 can hypothetically use all the available spare memory (RAM) installed on your computer that isn't being used by other resources. It also un-locks the Power of your 4 or 6 Core CPU, so that the Maximum number of Rendering Threads are utilised.

RAM is important for a couple of major things in Movie Studio. It gets used a lot during the Rendering Process and is very useful when creating large complex projects full of 1080p video. Another way you can now use this RAM is for Dynamic RAM Preview mode. Dynamic RAM Preview gives you the abliity to Render small test portions of a project to Full HD Settings and then play it back during Editing. To use this tool you simply drag out a "Loop Region Area" and then press Control + "B". How much RAM you set aside for this must be manually set in Preferences before you start.

If your computer has enough DIMM slots, then I encourage you to add more memory to your computer if you are a hard core Video Editor. RAM has become incredibly cheap now so it wont break the bank. I use 16GBs of RAM now and my perfomance is lovely. I suggest a minimum of 8GBs will make you very happy indeed.

GPU Acceleration

Just like Sony Vegas Pro 11, Movie Studio Platinum 12 now has the ability to harness more of the processing power in your GPU (Graphics Processing Unit, Graphics  Card) to assist with Rendering Video. Specifically, GPU Acceleration can be used when rendering to the Sony AVC and Mainconcept AVC formats.

Additionally, many of the Sony Video Fx plugins and Transitions have now been upgraded to be GPU Accelerated as well, which obviously helps improve user experience while editing and rendering.

Requirements for GPU Acceleration
In order for GPU Acceleration to work properly, you must have the right kind of Graphics Card installed in your computer. Nvidia Cards that are CUDA enabled and ATI cards that are Open-CL enabled, will both work in Movie Studio Platinum 12. They also must be using up to date Driver Software for things to work as well.

Here are the specific requirements that must be met for GPU Acceleration to work:

Nvidia
Requires a CUDA-enabled GPU with 512 MB or more RAM and driver 270.xx or later.
GeForce GPUs: GeForce GTX 4xx Series or higher (or GeForce GT 2xx Series or higher with driver 285.62 or later).
Quadro GPUs: Quadro 600 or higher (or Quadro FX 1700 or higher with driver 285.62 or later).

ATI
Requires an OpenCL-enabled GPU with 512 MB or more RAM and Catalyst driver 11.7 or later with a Radeon HD 57xx or higher GPU. If using a FirePro GPU, FirePro unified driver 8.85 or later is required.

Movie Studio Platinum 12 "Suite" - Main Bonus Features

The Suite version has some great new bonuses, which I always believe are defintely worth the extra investment, because you end up with a full Production Suite of very useful programs and plug-ins that can create just about any project you can dream of.

The three big components are:

  • NewBlue Sample pack with NewBlue Titler EX
  • Magic Bullet Quicklooks
  • 50 x Sony Sound Series production music files

New Blue FX

NewBlue includes 6 x Video Fx plugins with 73 x Premade templates between them all that can be simply dragged straight onto the timeline without having to do anything else.

The NewBlue Titler EX is a pretty cool plug-in which gives you the ability to create 3D looking Text and Graphics that can add a real professional touch to your projects.

**Please note that the many NewBlue Fx and especially the Titler EX, defintely need a decent GPU installed in your computer for them to work at all. If you don't have a decent dedicated Graphics Card installed, these plugins willl simply not work properly at all, because they require a large amount of processing power.

Magic Bullet Quick-looks

This is the first time Magic Bullet Quicklooks has made an appearance as a bonus feature. There are over a 100 presets which you can choose from to create practically any mood you can dream of. Magic Bullet can add a many types of Colour Grading directly to your video without having the need to learn complex Colour Control Fx Plugins. This is a great time saver and especially useful for Short Film makers who are learning the ropes of Video Editing and Colour Grading.

Sony Sound Series

With Movie Studio Platinum 12 Suite there is a new collection of sample production music files that are all Royalty Free. So if you are making a Video for YouTube or Vimeo and need to add some Sound to your project, you can safely use this music to jazz up your videos.

Conclusion

OK. So I could keep talking here for ages about all the other components which are part of Sony Movie Studio Platinum 12. You still get all the same features that have been present for quite some time now in all previous versions. If you want to look at the niity gritty of the Technical Specs, then you can read about this on the official Sony Creative Software website.

If there are any new people reading this article who have had no experience before with Sony Vegas Movie Studio software, then you may like to watch two in-depth videos I made about Vegas Movie Studio HD Platinum 11, which actually show the heart of this software off.
Sony Vegas Movie Studio HD Platinum 11 Included Tools and Video Fx Review
Sony Vegas Movie Studio HD Platinum 11 New Version Introduction and Review

Most people by now will probably be asking is it worth Upgrading to the NEW Movie Studio Platinum 12 ?

If you are using a low powered or older computer, and it is only a 32bit, then I would say stick to whatever version of Vegas Movie Studio HD Platinum you are currently using.
If like myself you have a 64bit Computer with a 4 x Core CPU and decent graphics card installed, then I reckon it is definitely worth investing in Movie Studio Platinum 12 or Movie Studio Platinum 12 Suite - I highly recommend the Suite Version. Remember that anyone who already is a current owner of any Vegas Movie Studio software, qualifies for the special discounted Upgrade Pricing which is available only through Sony Creative Software.

Screen Shots of the Program

movie studio platinum 12 1

movie studio platinum 12 2 

movie studio platinum 12 3

movie studio platinum 12 4

movie studio platinum 12 5

movie studio platinum 12 6

movie studio platinum 12 7

movie studio platinum 12 8

Movie Studio Platinum 12 9

movie studio platinum 12 10

movie studio platinum 12 11

movie studio platinum 12 12

movie studio platinum 12 13

Movie Studio Platinum 12 14 

Ethics Statement
I did not get paid by Sony Creative Software to write this review. I only recommend products that I actually use myself and have tested by using them under normal working conditions.

Derek Moran
August 2012

 

 

Derek-Moran-60x60

About Derek Moran
Derek Moran is the author of all articles on Movie Studio Zen.
You can find me on YouTube, , FacebookTwitterRead more about Derek...

 

Say something here...
symbols left.
You are a guest ( Sign Up ? )
or post as a guest
Loading comment... The comment will be refreshed after 00:00.
  • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
    Alice · 05:15 17/04/2016
    I have a question. Since you have used Movie Studio 12, do you know if there is a way to speed up sections of video, but not the whole video file?
  • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
    Kuba · 00:46 03/04/2016
    Is the software compatible with .Mov formats
    • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
      Derek
      • Moderator
      · 16:15 03/04/2016
      Yes you can import .mov video formats into Movie Studio. You will need to also install Apple Quicktime, which is a prerequisite of the program, for decoding this format.
  • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
    Gavin · 19:15 30/05/2015

    50 Sony Sound Series Production Music files

    These royalty-free soundtracks add the perfect atmosphere to almost any project.

    •Follow along with Show Me How tutorials and learn as you go
    •Select from 50 Sony Sound Series: Production Music files

    Hi Derek, Thank you for your tutorials I have found them very informative. I would be very grateful for your help please.
    I have this version but can not find the aforementioned music files. They do not appear to be on the discs or connected to the paperwork suggesting a link.
    Do you have any ideas? Cheers
    • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
      Derek
      • Moderator
      · 19:54 30/05/2015
      Hi Gavin

      Manually open the 2nd installation disc and you should find the music files and tutorials. Then drag them into a folder on your computer.

      If you only have 1x disc and have already manually opened the disc & searched and found nothing, you have probably bought an illegal non-retail version of the program. There are sellers on eBay selling illegal versions which are not meant for sale and normally come with the purchase of a computer.

      Let me know what you find out.

      Regards
      Derek.
      • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
        Gavin · 20:03 30/05/2015
        Thank you Derek, right where you said thank you I had used the view files in the discs installer and they weren't listed. I didn't think to try it manually although I did peruse disc 1 to see if I could see them.
        Thank you again,Gavin
  • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
    BBMPro · 07:59 09/12/2014
    Derek:

    Just want to visit this one last time. Please comment on the post at the following link.

    http://www.sonycreativesoftware.com/Forums/ShowMessage.asp?Forum=4&MessageID=887936

    I currently use a GT620 with an AMD quad core processor and SV Platinum 10. I want to get a graphics card soon to update my rig along with Platinum 13. Both the R9 270 and the GTX 750Ti are within budget. My main concern is rendering time from my edited video to MC or Sony AVC, MP4, etc.

    My files are huge (up to 3 hrs edited), so I want to cut down on my rendering (transcoding?) time significantly. The timeline playback with the current GT620 card is ok for me. I prefer to use MC for BluRay because, although the files are larger and the processing is slower than Sony, the resulting videos are smoother with fewer artifacts.

    From what I am seeing, the R7 290 will not help me with rendering according to the comments and your article in this tutorial (unless I misunderstood). I also want to start doing color correction in DaVincci with 10-bit 4:2:2 colour space, so I would like the card to be able to support this.

    Looks like the HD5870 would solve the problem, but those are still price. Is the GTX 7XX the way to go? Please comment. Thanks.

    BBMPro
    • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
      Derek
      • Moderator
      · 00:36 10/12/2014
      None of the newest graphics cards from AMD or Nvidia are supported for Mainconcept AVC rendering/exporting. The owners of this codec have not updated their code for a long time and I guess they never will. So buying an R9-270 will be of little use to you, if you mainly want to use the MC encoder.

      If you are simply upgrading an existing/older computer system, my very strong suggestion is that instead of wasting money for very little return on a brand new card, you instead buy a [b]2nd hand[/b] [b]GTX560[/b] or [b]GTX460[/b] from eBay. The older Nvidia GTX400 and GTX500 series graphics cards work exceedingly well with Vegas and rendering with Mainconcept AVC.

      I am still using an Nvidia GTX460 in my own computer and use it all the time for rendering to Mainconcept AVC - it works very, very well and definitely renders faster than my over-clocked Intel i7-2600k.

      There is a wide selection on 2nd hand Nvidia graphics cards for sale on eBay. The main reason why most people are selling their cards on eBay, is because they are probably Gamers and are continually looking for the latest and best GPU.
      • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
        BBMPro · 13:27 10/12/2014
        Thanks for the feedback. I am sure others have/will find these posts useful. Will look for a GTX560. Plenty on Amazon.

        Does the MC support stop at the GTX400/500 series? How about the GTX650/750? Will those also work with the MC codec? Could not find any information online. Those can be had quite cheaply new on Amazon. I rather buy new. Also, assuming that a higher number means a later model and probably some kind of increase in computing power. Thanks.

        BBMPro
        • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
          Derek
          • Moderator
          · 15:42 10/12/2014
          Support for MC Encoding ended when Nivida released the GTX600 series and above. Anyone who owns a GTX500 series card and uses Vegas, reports excellent performance.
          With the release of Nvidia's GTX600 series, they ended proper support for Video Editing programs by deliberately crippling the Drivers. GTX600, 700, 900....are aimed at Gamers only now ! Nvidia's logic is that if you are a Video Editor, you should be using their professional Quadro cards which DO come with excellent Drivers that support Video Editing programs. Big problem with Qaudro is they are terribly over-priced.
          Moving forward into the future, Sony now works much more closely with AMD Graphics Cards, because they have better drivers for Video Editing generally. However, ALL brands DO NOT support the MC encoder any more for video rendering.
          • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
            BBMPro · 14:55 18/12/2014
            Based on a number of posts on various online forums, it looks like MC support goes up to the GTX580.
  • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
    BBMPro · 04:59 10/08/2014
    I have a EVGA GT620 (2GB)GPU card, which is listed as CUDA enabled. Does this mean that I will benefit from GPU acceleration if I go to MS Platinum 12/13 on Win 7 64-bit? Has anyone verified this? If yes, how significant is change in rendering times? Feedback, please.
    • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
      Derek
      • Moderator
      · 12:38 10/08/2014
      Hi there
      Your Graphics Card is only a low powered GPU, so it is not going to speed up your rendering times. It only has 96 CUDA Cores.
      If you go to [b]Options[/b] - [b]Preferences[/b] - [b]Video tab[/b], and it shows up in the GPU Acceleration settings, it will help process some of the Video FX and help Preview Window.
      For rendering Video, it would be best if you use your CPU only.

      Graphics Card compatibility is a huge topic.
      Short answer for Movie Studio and Vegas Pro users is this:
      AMD Radeon R9 Series Cards work best with Sony programs now.
      600 and 700 Series Nvidia Cards have had their Drivers limited by Nvidia for Video Editing programs - so they don't work as well as they use to with the older series cards. Nvidia is trying to force people to buy expensive Quadro cards for Video Editing.
      If you ever decide to upgrade your card, get AMD Radeon.
      • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
        BBMPro · 11:54 11/08/2014
        Ok. I figured as much. Even if it's a small boost, I could use it. My renders typically run 12 hrs. At some point soon, I am going to upgrade both the SW and the HW.

        Below the R9, are there any other Radeon cards that give equivalant or even decent performance at a lower price?

        Also, does it have to be specifically the AMD version of the card, or will any third party card that uses the AMD chipset will work just as well.

        How about the Nvidia GTX 600/700 series?
        • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
          Derek
          • Moderator
          · 13:14 11/08/2014
          Nvidia is useless now. I would not recommend for anyone.
          However, if you can find a 2nd hand GTX500 series on eBay like a GTX560 or GTX580, that will run like a rocket. All the older series Nvidia cards [i][b]do w[/i]ork[/b] very well.

          When I talk about AMD, I am referring to the Chipset, not the manufacturer of actual card. Any brand is OK for AMD based GPUs.
          The higher end of the R7 cards is OK, like R7 260 or R7 260X.
          However I always believe it is better to save up for a little extra time and get the best you can afford.

          I explain what the problem is with Graphics Cards in this article.
          Scroll to section 006 and the pink section.
          [url]http://www.moviestudiozen.com/free-tutorials/computers-and-video-editing/456-how-to-select-parts-for-a-desktop-computer-build-in-2012[/url]
          • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
            BBMPro · 17:50 11/08/2014
            Thanks for the info. It aligns with whatI have been reading online. I plan to get MS 13 soon. I want to get a card that good compromise between cost and performance.

            I see the Nvidia GTX 560/Ti cards online for $150, which is within budget. However, the AnandTech benchmarks clearly show that the AMD cards are far superior. Although, I could not find the details of the benchmark setup. The only concern about the Radeon card is that some reports on Creative Cow indicate that the HD 6000/7000 series do not benefit Main Concepts AVC rendering. I would like a card that both Main Concepts and Sony AVC renderng will benefit from.

            The Radeon HD5000 series apparently work with both, so it would make sense to get something like the HD5770, but that is older technology. I would prefer to get something newer, but don't want to run the risk of getting a new card that does not support both Main Concepts and Sony AVC. Perhaps you could share your thoughts and experience on this. Thanks.
            • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
              Derek
              • Moderator
              · 18:30 11/08/2014
              None of the newer Nvidia or AMD GPUs work with Mainconcept AVC/AAC GPU rendering anymore. The H.264 Codec which is Mainconcept is very old now. The company that owns Mainconcept is responsible for this. They own the code and are not updating how it works with the newest architecture in graphics cards. This is why the older GTX500 series are so good - they work under all conditions. I have a GTX460 and it renders video using CUDA very fast.
              You can go round and round in circles with this topic.
              You will not find a win/win situation - it does not exist.
              Everything I know from doing months and months of research is in the article that I told you to read.
              • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
                BBMPro · 03:24 12/08/2014
                Understood. I have been looking at this for a while too and it is indeed a circuitous problem. However, as I said, I am not looking for a win/win, just a best compromise. My experience using Platinum 10 is that the Main Concepts codec gives better results (smoother video) than Sony in certain situations -particularly where there is a lot of movement and things like cobblestone with movement. However, the rendering is way longer and the files are larger. I don't know if this has been improved in MS 13 (can't test because it won't run on my current Win XP setup), but I still have to consider Main Concepts in my final decision.

                So, it seems that the best compromise would be to use and older Nvidia GTX 4xx/5xx/6xx or Radeon HD 5000/6000/7000 series card. Just wanted to verify where the Main Concepts GPU support stops for either series. I found an article for Sony GPU support, but not Main Concepts.
  • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
    Tom · 02:58 13/05/2014
    Is the AMD Radeon HD 8650G compatible with GPU acceleration?
  • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
    Randell · 13:45 15/08/2013
    Hello Derek,
    Randell here again. 1st off,thanks for your info on my New Blue Titler EX prob. It was my graphics card. Now I'm running the Nvidia GeForce GT 620 with 2 gig and no more probs.
    Another issue. I just up graded my You tube email/password acct and now Sony won't upload from the make movie site. Have you ever observed this before and is there a setting to apply a new email & PW?
    As always,your help is greatly appreciated.
    Randell Briggs
    • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
      Derek
      • Moderator
      · 16:05 15/08/2013
      Hi Randell
      So I guess you have been using the [B]"Upload to YouTube[/B] button inside Movie Studio ?
      I always advice people not to use this function in MS. If the YouTube Servers are having a bad day, your login details will fail block the upload of your video.
      My workflow is to use the [B]Make Movie Function[/B] or [B]Render As[/B] function (which is the same thing) and render my video first. Once the video has finished rendering and I have checked it, I go directly to YouTube and press the [B]Upload[/B] link at the top of all YT pages. Then you just navigate to My Documents - Vegas Projects Folder - My Project - select your newly rendered video and then the upload begins.
      Derek
  • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
    TreTru · 07:37 27/06/2013
    Hi Derek..very informative reviewsthank you for doing these they
    help out tremendously, I am using Movie studio Platinum12.0 and had a question.
    I have 2 computers 1 runs 32 bit and I just got a 64 bit..I started a project on my 32 bit
    laptop but havent got to finish it yet(it was taking up too much ram to see the effects in preview.
    So I obviously want to now Use that template on my new 64bit beast of a computer but was wondering i
    f it's even possible to pull that 32 bit template onto my new comp and open it up in the 64bit verion on movie studio?
    • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
      Derek
      • Moderator
      · 12:49 27/06/2013
      I can't give you a concrete answer.
      It's not really a good idea to switch your Movie Studio projects from the 32 bit version to the 64 bit version or vise versa. Some of the software code is only written in 32 bit and some only in 64 bit. So you could end up with strange bugs appearing that drive you crazy. Basic editing cuts shouldn't be a problem to transfer, however it is the effects that "may" cause errors.
      So the only way to find out is to try.
      The No.1 reason why Movie Studio is available in a 32bit and 64bit version, is so that people of older computers can still use the 32bit version. 64bit computing is well and truly becoming the standard now for all new computers, because it offers so much more processing power when dealing with large 1080p video files.
  • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
    Deke Thursby · 22:51 25/06/2013
    Hi. Fantastic review. I wonderd if you could help me. I am a complete novice but i have just got this software ( suite edition ) and im getting crashes if i try to select NewBlue Titler EX. My symstem is -
    Intel Core i7-3820 Quad Core 3.60 GHz
    Asus P9X79 Pro Intel X79 Chipset
    16GB RAM
    AMD Radeon HD 7850 2GB Video Card.
    Is my system powerfull enough? Any help would be great. Thanks, Deke.
    • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
      Derek
      • Moderator
      · 00:19 26/06/2013
      Your System is very powerful, so that is not the problem.
      First thing I would try is to un-install the NewBlue Titler, re-boot and then re-install it.
      Make sure you installed the 64 bit version of Movie Studio Platinum 12 Suite. To check, go to Help - About Movie Studio Platinum. Also make sure you have Build Version 896 installed.
      Do you have Vegas Pro 11 installed on your computer as well ?
      Please don't reply under this message, because you started a new question under another persons comment and room is running out here. Either start a New thread or reply directly to this email address help@moviestudiozen.com
  • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
    Patrick Dunnagan · 12:17 29/03/2013
    I have rendering issues with Movie Studio Platinum 12 Suite, HELP! I have AVCHD footage at 720p 23.976fps. I have edited my footage, it is clocking in at about 2 hours long. I want to put this on DVD, so my thought was to break it down into two 1 hour long sections. I set the loop selector to the 1 hour mark and click make movie, set the output to save to hard drive at the preset DVD settings and click go... 16 hours later it finishes... I have 5 sets of these to make. I can't take 2 weeks to do this. It is a new computer, Win 7, Intel, Quad Core 3.2Ghz, 32Gb of RAM. Help please! Can I set the compression where I can squeeze the 2 hours onto one DVD? Formerly a FCP user, working for a client on their gear.
    • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
      Derek
      • Moderator
      · 13:21 29/03/2013
      Hi Patrick
      I have good news for you - don't panic.
      At this very moment I am working on some new tutorials. One of them will teach you how to Professionally compress video, of any size, to fit onto any size disc. I make a large number of DVDs all the time using this method and it works beautifully. The best way to make the BEST quality DVDs, is to render the video accurately in Movie Studio so that it does not have to be re-rendered (re-compressed) in DVD Architect Studio. One thing I will tell you ahead of time though, is that 23.976fps video (due to DVD specifications), will get re-rendered in DVD Architect. It doesn't get compressed, something has to be emedded so that the frame rate works properly on a TV. There is no way around this, but it isn't a big deal. It just means more time is added to the workflow. 25p and 30p video are faster to work with on DVDs. Once you have the DVD template/files rendered, any further copies will burn in under 10 minutes each.
      Regards, Derek.
      • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
        Patrick D. · 01:45 30/03/2013
        Thanks Derek!
        One thing to note is, I did think about the fps conversion and used the DVD setting to do it on the front end. So it was converting it to 29.97fps as well as 720x480 widescreen. I look forward to your tutorial. Having switched from FCP I loved the preset templates for different length video files to fit on DVD. Thank you for your help!
        Patrick
        • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
          Derek
          • Moderator
          · 02:45 01/04/2013
          Just a quick message to let you know I have not forgot about making a new tutorial. I had a large number of unexpected things take priority and simply have not had the time to finish the tutorial. Hopefully I can get it finished tomorrow.
          Dex
          • Your comment will be reviewed by a moderator before it is published on the site.
            Patrick D · 10:36 05/04/2013
            Thank you! I appreciate that. Let me know when it is up. I have been checking back to see if it was up yet. Hopefully soon, would love to figure this out. And how long do you think it will take to render out based on kind of video and length of video with the machine I referenced.

Zen Social Media

MOVIESTUDIOZEN.COM

© Copyright 2018. Movie Studio Zen. All Rights Reserved.

Support Movie Studio Zen

patreon 200

Movie Studio Zen is a fully independent site and all our content is free. You can help support the site by visiting the MSZ Patreon page or by making a PayPal donation.

Translate Language

 

MSZ Security

Positive SSL

Back to top

Like most websites Movie Studio Zen uses cookies. By continuing to use this website, you are giving consent to cookies being used.