VEGAS Pro 21 - On Sale Now!
DISCLOSURE: Movie Studio Zen is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on this site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Solved Video stretched when viewed on TV - What could I be doing wrong?

Hi! First time user here. Your website is a godsend.

I am really puzzled as to why my DVD video appears stretched when viewed on my TV. I feel as though I've followed the instructions for project creation, properties, etc. correctly in both Vegas Movie Studio (v11) and DVD Architect, but the result seems different from what I'm led to expect. Here are a few details:

This is my first time editing a video (and wouldn't you know I would make it a 50-minute wedding/honeymoon travelogue!). The video is SD, filmed on a Canon FS200 camcorder with an aspect ratio of 16:9. The clips are in MOD format. When I first tried to load them into my project, the application wouldn't "see" my camcorder, so I ended up copy/pasting them into my hard drive. From there, Vegas MS would not "see" the files until I finally found the "ALL FILES" selection when importing project media. I tried using the "auto-detect" feature when setting up my project properties, but Vegas did not recognize the clips as widescreen and set the project at 4:3. So, once in my project, the clips were squeezed horizontally. I learned how to correct that by selecting NTSC DV Widescreen (720x480, 29.970 fps). I also changed all of my clips to match.