VEGAS Pro 21 - On Sale Now!
DISCLOSURE: Movie Studio Zen is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on this site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Solved delete part of a scene

• hkmk23
  • hkmk23's Avatar Offline Topic Author
  • Zen Newbie
  • Zen Newbie
  • Thank you received: 1

delete part of a scene was created by hkmk23

Posted 10 Jul 2016 00:37 #1
Hi everyone,
I am a newbie.. Just found both Platinum 13 and this forum. Both look great. I have one immediate stupid (probably) help request.
So I have my home video, it has been converted to a .wmv file and I can import it into Studio all fine. But when I come to the bit where aunt Flo is picking her nose in church......how do I mark the start and finish and highlight and delete the offending section cleanly? I have spent several unhappy hours trying to do this so far!

This is so basic I feel ashamed to ask, but I simply cannot do this task...... and no I don't have an aunt flo - it's just an example!

so far every time I try and do it deletes the whole movie!

Help please

Cheers
Last Edit:10 Jul 2016 01:54 by hkmk23

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Replied by DoctorZen on topic delete part of a scene

Posted 10 Jul 2016 00:50 #2
Hi hkmk23 and welcome to the MSZ Forum.

Please watch my beginners guide tutorial, which will teach you how to use the most important editing tools.
Beginners Guide for Sony Movie Studio Platinum 13

The most simplest way to cut out a section of video, is to use S for Split and the DELETE key.
Import video to timeline and locate frame just before section you want to delete.
Press S for split.
Now move along and find end of offending section - press S for split.
Press mouse pointer on top of middle section and press DELETE key.
Now move 3rd section to left, until it snaps into place.

As a general note, I would not advise converting video to Windows Media Video .wmv
This is not a good format to edit with at all.