VEGAS Pro 21 - On Sale Now!
DISCLOSURE: Movie Studio Zen is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on this site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Solved Envelope tool, and config, in MS Platinum 13

• MJC
  • MJC's Avatar Offline Topic Author
  • Zen Newbie
  • Zen Newbie
  • Thank you received: 2

Envelope tool, and config, in MS Platinum 13 was created by MJC

Posted 27 Feb 2017 20:57 #1
Many apologies if this has been asked and answered many times, but search as I may I can't seem to find an answer to these two incredibly simple problems...!
They may be too simple to answer, as I am a raw beginner with Movie Studio Platinum 13... but I hope not.
1. Sometimes when i drag the video along the timeline the audio drags itself along with it automatically - which is good. But sometimes it doesn't - I don't know why - which is bad. How can I make them always stick together?
2. Derek, I have watched your beginners' tutorial many times - and I still can't grasp what the envelope tool is, and how to use it! What's it for? Nor can I understand 'Config'. Please, please could you direct me to somewhere that answers these problems?
Or if that place does not exist, please could you create a tutorial for it??
Please!
Thank you.
by MJC

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Replied by DoctorZen on topic Envelope tool, and config, in MS Platinum 13

Posted 28 Feb 2017 14:45 #2
Hi MJC

Audio attached to Video files, is always grouped by default in Vegas. It cannot separate unless you have accidentally pressed the button or keyboard shortcut, that controls this.

Selecting a Video on the timeline and then pressing U, will un-group the video and audio files.
Selecting a Video and Audio track, then pressing G, will re-group the video and audio back together.
There is also a button that controls this in bottom toolbar.