VEGAS Pro 21 - On Sale Now!
DISCLOSURE: Movie Studio Zen is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on this site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Loved How to Use Movie Studio Suite to Optimize Video Quality (Blu-ray Disc) & Minimize Trimming Time

I'm somewhat new to video editing. My experience to date is with Windows Movie Maker and PlayMemories Home. I like the video quality of m2ts files, but find the simple editing process of taking 6 to 8 video clips, trimming out foot shots and video bombs, then creating a final product i.e. computer file in 1920x1080 and HD quality DVD or Blu-ray discs. I want the highest quality video possible. Second priority is basic editing that does not reduce video quality. Additional video editing features are nice, but lower priority.

I give computer files on DVD to club members to play on computer or DVD player and have put about 60 videos on YouTube. It appears that loading videos to YouTube reduces quality even more due to their compression process, which increases as video length increases, but that's the way it is. My video source is a Sony HDR-XR500v, which is consumer level quality camera, but I shoot everything in HD. Computer CPU, RAM, SSD, HDD, Storage, and Graphics Adapter are not an issue and I use a dedicated system for video. I shoot videos of remote control model aircraft, which is very challenging without professional level camera and stabilization.

Windows Movie Maker has difficulty with m2ts files; frame controls do not respond instantly as it does with other file types, which makes trimming clips very time consuming. Video quality is reduced by compression in both wmv and mp4 file formats, but probably less that what YouTube does? Is there any other strategy other than shorter videos for YouTube? Also, Windows Movie Maker creates DVD's but not Blu-ray disc.