VEGAS Pro 21 - On Sale Now!
DISCLOSURE: Movie Studio Zen is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on this site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Solved MAGIX Acquisition of Sony Creative Software Offerings

MAGIX Acquisition of Sony Creative Software Offerings was created by sublimezero

Posted 15 Jun 2016 01:25 #1
Hi Derek et al.

I am a newbie to MSZ, but have been following Derek on YouTube for years. I am still a complete amateur, however, I have basically learnt all I know about editing and Movie Studio from Derek, so firstly - a massive thank you is required

Basically, I have just read about MAGIX apparent acquisition of Sony Creative Software Offerings (article below)

www.videomaker.com/videonews/2016/05/magix-acquires-sonys-vegas-pro-plus-majority-of-sony-creative-software-offerings

Apologies if this has already been posted/discussed etc...but, I am keen to ascertain an understanding of what Derek and others feel this means. i.e. will MAGIX continue creating and releasing future version for MS, or will they combine and imbedded it within their own existing solution (which I have little or no knowledge of) And/or whether Sony's Catalyst Edit will actually become the new version of Movie Studio ?

It's just as a complete novice that only really feels comfortable with Movie Studio ( BTW I run Movie Studio Platinum 12 suite)

Any guidance and or thoughts would be greatly appreciated

Thanks in advance

Rich

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Replied by DoctorZen on topic MAGIX Acquisition of Sony Creative Software Offerings

Posted 15 Jun 2016 02:55 #2
Hi Rich and welcome to the MSZ Forum

Thank you for the positive feedback :cheer:

I know many people have a lot of questions about this topic. I posted an official message about the takeover here:
www.moviestudiozen.com/forum/announcements/954-sony-creative-software-s-major-products-have-been-officially-sold-to-magix-software