VEGAS Pro 21 - On Sale Now!
DISCLOSURE: Movie Studio Zen is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on this site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Solved Tools not operating correctly

Tools not operating correctly was created by Coltrane

Posted 08 Jul 2020 00:49 #1
I am a beginner trying to edit my first video and have watched the extremely helpful Beginners video.
My problem is that the undernoted tools do not operate as shown:
Slip tool - no design icon, slip trim activated
Slide tool - trim adjacent activated
Time Stretch -no percentage box, increasing the time is ok but compressing leaves a gap behind
Selection Edit tool - drags the clips selected and overlays them on new position and leaves a gap. Is this correct? Is it possible to insert rather than overlay?
Fades - can fade in but overlapping to fade in and out only moves the the clip, leaves a gap and does not fade
Transitions - works ok
Any assistance gratefully received.
Last Edit:08 Jul 2020 06:59 by Coltrane

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Replied by DoctorZen on topic Tools not operating correctly

Posted 08 Jul 2020 08:57 #2
Hi Coltrane - Welcome to the MSZ Forum :)

I can assure you all the tools you have listed are working OK and there are no bugs in this part of the program.
The best way to explain your problems is to record a video screen capture to show exactly what you mean, then upload to YouTube and share a link to the video here.
But I don't mean using a video camera to record your monitor - I mean using a video screen capture program like OBS.
I will be making a new tutorial for how to use OBS this week !

Since you are a beginner, I would recommend you stick with very basic editing tools until you become more familiar with the basics, then progress to more advanced tools. Slip and Slide can be confusing for beginner. When I was learning many years ago, there were no Slip and Slide tools.